The Bankster – By Ravi Subramanian


Bankster-Front CoverThis was the book I almost didn’t review. There is a story behind this. When this book was made available by Blogadda for the review under the book review program, I was attracted to the book by the name. Bankster, a banker turned Gangster? The author credentials were impeccable. Wall Street Journal called him “John Grisham of Banking”. I am a big Grisham fan myself, and have read most of his books.

The next thing that attracted me to the book was the cover. It perfectly complemented the title. The mysterious man in the overcoat with a briefcase created a visual image of the “Bankster”

If I needed any further convincing, the back cover did it.

Bankster-Back-Cover

In Angola, a covert CIA agent is about to exchange weapons for blood diamonds.

In Kerala, an elderly man will do whatever it takes to fulfill a promise made to a dying son.

In Mumbai, an international bank is stunned by the mysterious deaths of its key employees.

I applied to review the book immediately and was also selected to review the book. But in the meanwhile, I was required to go to USA for work. I declined to review the book. However, when I got the permission to submit a late review, I accepted.

The book is quite fast paced. I think Ravi hopes that a movie would be made on the book (who doesn’t) and has written the book almost like a film script. There are different scenes, different locations, different characters being introduced at a breakneck speed which keeps the reader engaged.

The prologue describes two different scenes. One in wartorn Angola, where one of the warring militia exchanges blood diamonds for weapons. The other in a distant resort in Kerala, where the hapless owner is exploited by the corrupt system.

Then we land in the head office of Greater Boston Global Bank (GB2) and are treated to the office politics in the bank.

I was happily reading along, when I came across a scene where adulterous relationship between two bank employees is described. The description was very restrained, not explicit at all, but I just couldn’t read the book any further!

I have nothing against sex, or it’s description. It can be an expression of love, or just an animal act. But adultery puts me off. May be I am just a prude, or very old fashioned may be even outdated. But I can choose what I want to read, and I just put the book down, and wrote a mail to Blogadda that I didn’t want to write the review of the book, since I can’t read the complete book.

Hats off to the Blogadda team who followed up with me and convinced me to write this review. They convinced me that even this review, written without reading the whole book may be useful to some readers and can also make the authors aware that there is a section of readers who won’t read a book that has such descriptions.

All other reviews of the book that I read praise the book.

This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at BlogAdda.com . Participate now to get free books!

This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Business. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Bankster – By Ravi Subramanian

  1. thebanksters says:

    Dear Makarand.. yes there is a brief description of an adulterous relationship in the book. I felt it was necessary to show the relationship between the characters. That said, my apologies if it hurt your sensibilities. Do let me know if apart from that description, there was anything else in the book, that you didn’t like. Would love to hear from you. My next book Bankerupt releases next month, but given your choice of books, Bankerupt would automatically disqualify itself from books that you read :)… cheers..ravi

    • Ravi

      No offence meant in the review, and you do have a great narrative style. Life is really too short to do things that one doesn’t like, when there is a choice of not doing them.

      I wish you all the best. May Bankerupt be a great success.

      Regards
      Makarand

  2. Riz Mithani says:

    Like I had commented on FB, I had to read the book, and yes the EM affair is germane to the plot. Ravi does a fairly decent job of building the characters ( or the lack of character in some instances). Their is an unexpected twist at the end and believe all the lose ends get tied up. All in all it’s a good weekend or beach read.

  3. Jean Grenier says:

    Great review and happy to see there are still people who stand up for their convictions

Leave a Reply

