You WILL find that strength to get back up…

nick-vujicic

Most of us, who have the responsibility to lead and manage others, have reached there because of the experience that we have had. Our bosses thought that we could now take more responsibility and gave it to us. Of course we have learnt from our experience and know a few things, but we have never had any formal training in leading and managing. It is no different in our office. To correct this, we have arranged a series of management training sessions. Yesterday’s session was on Motivation. In this session, Raj Aphale, the trainer showed us this video clip.

The clip began with an obviously disabled, short man without hands, standing on a table, in front of an audience of school children. He was moving around on the table very easily, as he greeted the crowd. And then he said, “I have no limbs”. That’s when I realized with a shock, that he had no feet either. He was very entertaining and funny, making the kids laugh. He played a musical instrument, with an appendage that he had, in place of his foot. Just as I was thinking that this was a weirdo using his disability to gain people’s sympathy, the performance took a completely unexpected turn. The guy deliberately fell down on the table! I was wondering, How was he going to get back up?

Then he talked about how, when we fall down, we feel that we don’t have the strength and want to give up, but if we do give up, we will never be able to get back up. If we want to We WILL always find the strength to get back up.

And then, incredibly, the man without limbs, got back up!! The audience was moved. I had goose bumps watching him get up. My eyes were moist. I was witnessing a miracle of human mind and determination.

Never Give Up–Nick Vujicic

The clip made me feel so humble. I have gone thru some challenging periods in my life and seen my share of bad fortune. I always prided myself in having come out of those times wise, balanced and without becoming bitter about life. But what I was witnessing was way beyond anything that I had experienced or could have imagined.

Here was a disabled man, without hands or feet, whom most of us would consider unfortunate, giving life lessons to us, physically much more able people than him. I was intrigued. I was inspired. I wanted to know more about this great inspiring person. As always, I turned to Wikipedia and Google.

Nicholas (Nick) James Vujicic (born on 4 December 1982) is a preacher and motivational speaker – born with Tetra-amelia syndrome, a rare disorder characterized by the absence of all four limbs. He struggled as a child, eventually came to terms with his disability and started his own non-profit organization Life Without Limbs – at age seventeen. Vujicic presents motivational speeches worldwide, on life with a disability, hope, and finding meaning in life.

Vujicic promotes his work through television shows and through his writing. His first book, Life Without Limits: Inspiration for a Ridiculously Good Life (Random House, 2010)[11] was published in 2010. He markets a motivational DVD, Life’s Greater Purpose, a short documentary filmed in 2005 highlighting his home life and regular activities.

I am grateful that I saw the clip and got to know about Nick. That I am fortunate to have a complete body. That small imperfections that may be present in my life are not worth complaining about.

Please watch the clip and get inspired. You WILL find that strength to get back up…

This entry was posted in Fundas, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You WILL find that strength to get back up…

  1. Vinay Deodhar says:

    Makya,
    Certainly very inspiring. We able bodied have no justification to crib about the small pains that we have after watching Nick. He really used the incredible organ that he has to get up! His head!
    It is really an inspiring clip..

  2. Pingback: Destined or shaped? | Makarands Musings

  3. Dinesh Gajjar says:

    Yes, i had same feeling while watching that video. Great to be part of that session…

Leave a Reply

