Tere Ghar Ke Samne in the eyes of a frenchman

A few days ago, I had written about my most favorite movie, Tere Ghar Ke Samne. It was quite well received and I did get many comments from readers on the post and on my facebook page. Little did I know that I am going to meet another person, who not only loves the movie as much as I do, but can describe the magic of the movie much better that I did. And to top it up, he happens to be a frenchman in love with bollywood movies.🙂. I didn’t think there were many viewers of Hindi movies outside India. But here is a person in France who writes a whole blog about bollywood.

I came across this blog through a commentthat he wrote on my post in which he left a link to his post. The article is really great. I learnt many things about Nutan, (That she had just delivered her son and retunred to movies) and about the movie, (That the inside of Kutub Minar was created inside the studio). However, what impressed me most was the details of the situations in the song “Dil ka bhavar” and expressions of the protagonists. If you liked my post, you would love his. Please read it in the original. However, I can’t stop myself from reproducing this gem.

One word has got to be said for the famous scene in Qutub Minar, the inside of which I have read somewhere has been    reconstructed in studio (so that when I was watching the movie, and called my boy to come and have a look because last year when we went there, the tower was no longer open to the public, he    probably did not see what the inside really looked like!). The ascent to heaven it represents, with the pauses at the various levels, is peppered with songs filled with allusions, jokes,    innuendoes and gags: in short it’s so full of fun that it’s pure joy to watch and rewatch.

I feel a little dumb, but in spite of being a die hard romantic, I never connected the climb of Kutub Minar to the ascent to the heaven. However, now that I read about it, it makes perfect sense. Thanks yves. I will watch the film again in light of your article. This also shows the value of discussing stuff with others, so it will expand our own understanding and give us a better perspective.

(Edit: Sorry, but I wrote the email address of yves before by mistake. I removed it respecting his privacy)

This entry was posted in Fundas, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tere Ghar Ke Samne in the eyes of a frenchman

  1. Well if you were surprised, so am I! I think this is the first time somebody actually writes an article after having read something on my blog! Thanks! It’s most considerate of you

  2. yves says:

    Dear Makarand,
    Well if you were surprised, so am I! I think this is the first time somebody actually writes an article after having read something on my blog! Thanks! It’s most considerate of you. But please don’t feel dumb about new things you might not have seen or felt: in a movie, if it’s a good one, there are always things to see from different angles, and two people rarely “see” the same things! I know this because among bloggers (and Bollywood lovers) we discuss a lot, and share our impressions, and learn from one another. This is exactly what you evoke when you say “This also shows the value of discussing stuff with others, so it will expand our own understanding and give us a better perspective.” I couldn’t agree more. The fun of blogging about well-loved movies is that we buzz about them like bees, but in the end the honey is for everybody.
    Let’s hear more about you, and don’t hesitate to write about your likes and dislikes!
    Regards,
    yves

Leave a Reply

