You named me WHAT?

you_named_me_what

There was a very interesting news a couple of days ago. An Israeli couple Lior and Vardit Adler, from Hod Hasharon, a town north-east of Tel Aviv have named their daughter “Like”.

 

LikeLior Adler stressed that it was important for him to give his daughter a name that was unique and that was one-of-a-kind, at least in Israel. And Facebook being an icon for today’s generation, they decided to name their daughter “Like”.

This is the second instance of a baby name being inspired by Facebook. In February this year, Jamal Ibrahim named his new-born daughter “Facebook” as a tribute to the role Facebook played in the Egyptian revolution.

This started me thinking. How do people decide names for their babies? What makes them choose a word that will become their child’s identity for rest of their lives?

In the old days, people turned to the gods to name their children. And in India, with 330 million gods, they really had a very wide choice. Smile. Most parents chose their favourite god or goddess and named their child. And with the child named after a god they could hardly go wrong.

People also name their children after their heroes. During the freedom struggle the freedom fighters were the national heroes. So naturally, people named their children after them. It’s no wonder that you find many Subhashs, Jawahars and Sarojinis in the generation born during the freedom struggle.

Bal Gangadhar Tilak and Gopal Krishna Gokhale were two prominent freedom fighters from Maharashtra. They had a lot of influence in the neighbouring Andhra Pradesh. Many children in Andhra were named Tilak & Gokhale after them. Funny thing was Gokhale and Tilak were their surnames and not first names.

The generations after freedom was won had a new set of heroes. They were the film actors and their on screen personas. So we have a lot of Dilips, Rajs, Manojs and Amits in the next generation.

And let’s not forget all the sports icons. I am quite sure that Sachin must be the most popular name in the cricket crazy India just now.

If you want to get a Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India, and you can’t get it with your own deeds, there is an easy way out. Name your son Bharat Ratna. So when your son tells his name, it’s Bharat Ratna <your name here> Smile

Every name has a story behind it. Do you know the story behind your name? Please share…

This entry was posted in Fundas, Humour, News, Weird, Unusual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You named me WHAT?

  1. Pingback: You named me WHAT? Part II | Makarands Musings

  2. Dinesh Gajjar says:

    Similar to Bharat ratna naming, very popular gujarati author & columnist Ashok Bhatt named his son as “Samrat”. So, full name of his son is – Samrat Ashok Bhatt.

  3. Lakshmi says:

    If people want to please goddess Lakshmi just name your daughters so… and it sounds like they are chanting their name..
    I don’t know of any such story behind my name but in our religion every grandson or grand daughter will have their grandparents creating a lot of confusion.. Same rule has been followed for me and every cousin sister of mine..
    Then the next issue is not to take elder’s name, then search for a new pet name😀

  4. Pingback: Finally, a century… | Makarands Musings

  5. Deepti says:

    My pet name is “Tikki”. I have been called by this name throughout my childhood, even in my school my freinds knew this name. I use to find it very strange to hear this name.

    My mother explained the reason behind and it was really funny. She explained that when she was being taken to the delivery ward, in all her pain she could hear the clock going “Tik-tik-tik”. And that was the time she decided to name me “Tikki”.

    I still laugh at my reply to her. I replied “I thank GOD for not making you hear a dogs bark “Bow-Bow”.” 🙂

  6. hehe. wats d story behind ur name.
    wid me, my parents liked different names bt granny dint seem to agree so a compromise was made, and a new name- sadiya- was brought in!
    granny likes, dad likes, mom likes- yayyy! my new name!🙂

    • I asked my mom about the story behind my name. Not much of a story really. That’s why it didn’t make it to the post.😀

      It seems as per the astrologer’s recommendation, my name should start with “M”. So many names like Madhukar, Manoj etc. were considered and people voted. Makarand won.😀

  7. Spicy Sweet says:

    Strange! But I “Like” the idea..

Leave a Reply

