Life lessons from the kite

kite_flying2Makar Sankranti is also celebrated as a kite flying festival. Everybody who can, flies a kite and everyone who cannot talks about it. So was the radio jockey on FM Rainbow on the radio. He narrated a very interesting story.

Once when father and son were flying a kite together, the son asked, “Father, what makes the kite fly?”.  Father said, “Son, it’s the string that makes the kite fly. Son is incredulous. “But father, doesn’t the string hold the kite back?” Father looked at the son and did a very strange thing. He cut the string with a knife. Needless to say, the kite was out of control and soon came down to ground.

Son couldn’t quite understand. “Father,” he said, “I thought it’s the wind which make the kite fly and the string holds it back”. “Son, the wind raises the kite in the air, but if it’s not grounded to earth by the string, it will not fly. It will just get blown away.”

Isn’t this very similar to our lives? Various opportunities, events in our lives will take us high, but unless we are firmly grounded in our principles & values, our lives would become directionless and will sooner or later blow us away.

The principles and values tether us to the ground. As Stephen Covey says in Seven Habits of highly effective people, the principles show us the true north. Like the north star shows the way in the darkness, the principles show us the true path in uncertainties.

And when all our actions are firmly based on the principles, even if the wind starts blowing in a different direction, even if we face very adverse conditions; this anchoring in principles helps us take an appropriate action so that we can continue to fly.

Happy flying!

This entry was posted in Festivals, Fundas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life lessons from the kite

  1. Manish Raje says:

    There is a small piece of information which I think will be helpful…

    It is equally important to understand what it means to give commitment to our principles or guidelines. No ‘chalata hai’ attitude.

    At my college days when I had a cigarette smoking friends, I kept myself away from them in the fear they will ask me to smoke. But sooner one of my really close friend started to smoke and asked me whether I want to smoke with curiosity. And I remember my reply – “If I will ever smoke, I will smoke with my money, not with the money given by my father.” He understood and never asked me again. I am not saying the smoking is a good or bad habit here. Only thing I want to say is principles matters when we are committed to it.

    • mkarkare says:

      Manish. Got your point. To me, a principle is not a principle if we are not commited to it. Without commitment, a principle or a value is just a facade that one uses when it’s convinient to use. So bothe of us are saying the same thing.

Leave a Reply

