Simply divine

We come across some fantastic moments in our life. We have no explanation for why they should happen in our lives, except that we are very lucky. They are once in a lifetime experiences.

It was January 2005. I and Geeta went for a morning walk. It was quite early, may be around 6 in the morning. The moon was on the west near horizon and looking very big. We were in the Bandra fort, looking at the moon. It was a magical moment and suddenly, an airplane flew in front of the big moon.

AirplaneSilhoutte

We couldn’t believe our eyes. We just couldn’t comprehend what was happening. And before we knew it, the moment was over. We were speechless.

I didn’t take the photograph above. I didn’t have the camera with me, and the whole thing happened so quickly, that even if I had one, I wouldn’t be able to take the photograph.

In the second instance, I was more fortunate. I had my camera and I could capture the wonder.

Best Photo

We were visiting Gangotri. This was August 2003. We reached the GMVN rest house. It was raining when we reached and so we thought we were not going to make it to the temple. While we were contemplating what to do, the rain stopped and we went to the temple.

The Gangotri temple is situated on the bank of Bhagirathi. The place itself is so divine that one doesn’t need a temple there to feel the presence of almighty.

We reached the temple and did the Darshan. Just as we were coming out of the temple, it started raining. We were clamouring for our plastic poncho’s when the sun came out partially. As we were looking ahead mesmerized, a rainbow appeared from nowhere. It was beautiful. Even as we were looking, another rainbow appeared over the first rainbow. The colours in the second rainbow were in the reverse order.

There is supposed to be pot of gold at the base of a rainbow. What do you get when you see two rainbows? A divine moment!!!

I am extremely fortunate to have experienced these divine moments. Have you experienced any such moments is your life. Please share.

This entry was posted in Fundas, Memoirs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Simply divine

  1. Pramod Nair says:

    thank you so much for sharing this info🙂

  2. Rahul Yadav says:

    I am blessed with many such moments which takes my breath away. I think this is directly proportional to number of outings you do in your life. so if you want to have such breathtaking moment travel more. even better, wander more🙂
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/photo.php?fbid=406168126851&set=t.614557872

    Chk the above link for the moment which tops my list🙂

  3. Mohammed Sufiyan says:

    Pramod’s experience was outstanding… I wish I could be there at that time ..

    Makrand sir, the photo which you have uploaded for moon is awesome.

  4. Sameer More says:

    They say life is not measured by the breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away. Fits quite aptly here.🙂

  5. Pramod Nair says:

    Yes you are correct…at times we see or experience some moments which happens in such a state that leave us shocked or stunted for that particular period, and we don’t find time to capture it or rather i would say that our brains don’t work….
    This incident happened in my latest road trip to north east.. We reached Rajasthan, around 6am and i saw the sun was rising slowing from the east. I was looking at the giant red sun rising on the right side of the road and reciting my surya namaskar mantras, when my friend asked me to look to the left side… I could not believe my eyes when I saw the perfect round shape moon exactly opposite to the sun and of same size. Now anyone would say that, it is not something new but that moment was so special and different that we really could not believe our eyes and stayed numb for sometime. We felt as if both sun and moon were saying hello to each other🙂 We stopped our car to view it clearly.
    I wish I had a cam with Panoramic capture facility…..

Leave a Reply

