Be the change that you want to see

Last couple of days, my notebook was not connecting to the wi-fi network at home and I had no clue why. I just pulled a network cable and used a wired connection. Again, yesterday night, I saw Mihir, my son, using the wi-fi network. I couldn’t when I tried.

Today morning, I wanted to check my mails. Wi-fi won’t connect. I couldn’t figure out what was happening. After thinking for about half a  second, I decided to check if the wi-fi on my laptop was switched on. Sure enough it wasn’t. The moment I did it, I connected to the network.

While the mail was downloading, I looked back on the whole episode. All this while I was thinking that something had to change outside my laptop for it to connect successfully, whereas it was the laptop that had to change (a setting).

This brought Mahatma Gandhi’s quote to my mind. “You must be the change that you want to see in the world”.

How true in this case. And how applicable to our individual lives. I have experienced this in my life. Many times, to change the situation (if not the world), the easiest option is to change ourselves. We have no control over the situation. One thing that we can control is ourselves and how we react to situations.

In the above episode, was it very obvious to you that I should have checked the setting on my laptop? When we need to change, it is also very obvious to people around us.

Did you have experiences in your life where a change in you made a change in the situation? Feel free to share them.

This entry was posted in Fundas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Be the change that you want to see

  1. Pingback: Corruption and Us | Makarands Musings

  2. Rahul Yadav says:

    Its better to wear slippers in feet than to carpet the earth🙂

    Nice read…

  3. Parag says:

    reminded me of the EST training in a way, which talked about being responsible for things that happen to you… looking for solutions within…
    I am enjoying this…thanks it also takes me away for a moment from my work related thinking….!!

  4. Sameer More says:

    Real (and lasting) change can only come from within, thats what I truly believe.
    Also, one very important lesson to be learnt here – the obvious is not to be overlooked. There is a reason why it is called that.
    Reminded me of this post I had written on changing oneself quite some time back.

  5. Mohammed Sufiyan Khan says:

    I have seen this great words when I was at Mumbai airport, I felt great and I have experienced lots of these..

    I am trying to be the change, I can do it..

    Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us…

Leave a Reply

