Computer Addiction

Overheard in the office bathroom at the closing time.

A: Not going home yet?

B: No. My home PC is not working. What can I do by going home? Will hang around here for some more time.

I couldn’t believe my ears. So after working for nine hours using a PC, B would go home and sit in front of the PC on most days? Is he addicted to computers?

computer_addictionHere is a Wikipedia definition. Computer addiction, a loosely used term with Internet Addiction, or Video game addiction, is the excessive or compulsive use of computers to the extent that it interferes with daily life.

 

Earlier, I wrote about telephone addiction and TV addiction. However, the computer addiction can be more damaging and stronger than these two. That’s because of the interactivity that the computer provides. The possibilities with the computer are really endless. It takes the user into a completely new world.

I have seen people glued to their PCs / Laptops / iPads, oblivious to the world around them. People wake up and switch on their computers first thing in the morning and then late in the night, switch off their computers and go to sleep. I do from time to time. Open-mouthed smile And nowadays more so, since I started writing this blog. In fact since a long time, my wife is jealous of my laptop because of the amount of time my laptop gets from me. She calls it my second, and more loved, wife. Winking smile. So Am I addicted to my computer?

When is a prolonged or excessive use of computers legitimate and what makes it an addiction? It’s the compulsive usage that makes it an addiction. Let’s have a look  at some of the accepted symptoms of computer addiction.

  • Having a sense of well-being and comfort of euphoria while at the computer and feeling meaningless, dull, empty, depressed or irritable when not at the computer.
  • Being unable to carry out daily activities without sitting in front of the computer.
  • Carving long time at the computer until neglecting family, friends and relatives

Alcohol and tobacco addictions are very well known. These symptoms look very similar to the symptoms of those addictions.

Ultimately, computer is a tool in our hands. We as masters should wield it for our benefit. When we get addicted to it, we basically allow it to become our master.

Do you suspect you are also addicted to your computer? Check it out.

Also, the list of symptoms I have given is by no way complete. If you have observed any more symptoms, please add them.

This entry was posted in Fundas, Science / Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Computer Addiction

  1. Pradeep says:

    Nice One

    Whenever we have free time & no work then just for time pass we switch ON Computer and play games, watch Movies & Surf on Internet & then understands that we have been hooked with computer for such a long hours is as Addiction only.

  2. Rahul Yadav says:

    One of the major reason of addiction is networking sites. I remember the Kotak Mahindra bank adv. An old guy, while accessing his PC says “hamare time pe face to face mila karte the, facebook pe nahi” souinds funny but i think its warning about our lifestyle….Instead of Hi hellos on facebook, meeting in person surely makes a difference. I would never trade the time for someone in person with spending it on my PC 🙂

  3. Sneha says:

    Thanks for this post..Each and every word is so true..

  4. Mohammed Sufiyan says:

    I am computer addict. But It is Okay, this is the only addiction which didn’t let me feel guilty…

Leave a comment