Why write a blog?

In my experience, if one is clear about the “Know Why” of something, then the “know what” and “know how” can be easily learnt. So the best place to start on anything is to ask “Why?”.

Clearer one is for the why, and more compelling is the reason, better are the chances of doing the thing consistently. I want to write the blog consistently, and hence am exploring the reasons.

There are many competing reasons for the why. Let me start by listing them out and then pick the one (or two) that are more compelling.

  • I plan to write an autobiography in the future, and the blog will provide me a lot of material when I undertake that. May be.
  • I am the chosen one who has been given the mission to enlighten the world. People are dying to hear what I have to say about anything and blog provides me a place to let people know what I think. Not really.
  • Many events happen in my life which are very illuminating when they happen, but are quickly forgotten. Not only the events, but the lessons learnt from those events are also lost. I want to have a place where I can record the events and the lessons. Definitely. This is a very worthwhile reason.
  • Many times, very brilliant ideas / thoughts emerge in my mind or someone shares them with me or I read them in a book or hear them on the radio / TV, only to be forgotten. I want to have a place where I can jot these ideas down. Definitely.

So I am writing this blog like a diary, to record events from my life, great ideas that I come across from various sources, great people that I get an opportunity to meet. If others benefit by reading them, that’s bonus.

I am also going to make an effort to write this blog frequently. The Marathi saint poet Samartha Ramdas Swami said

दिसामाजी काहीतरी ते लिहावे, प्रसंगी अखंडीत वाचीत जावे

(write something everyday and keep reading always)

So far I have always been reading. This is my first attempt at writing. I am going to make an attempt to write something everyday.

This entry was posted in Fundas, General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why write a blog?

  1. Allwyn says:

    I started on day five and came down here. Every post so lucid and well written. Looking forward to your posts. Or will, on day 31, you come up with top 5 reasons to *not* write a blog ;)

    • mkarkare says:

      Thanks Allwyn for your kind words. At present, I am going great guns and hope I will not have to come up with top 5 reasons to “not” write a blog.

      Agreed that it’s not easy. Finding inspiration, finding time and finding words! Lot of things to find. But So far it has been great fun.

      Keep reading.

  2. Manish Raje says:

    Really Great way to start the journey with you know why you are on this voyage…

    All the best!

  3. Kanta mama says:

    This is a great way to start new year. In my life I made many resolutions, every year. I kept only one. Stop smoking. It prooved to be a big achivement in my life, and I am very proud of that. I hope you will be proud of your goal one day, by keeping this one going. Great, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

